I don't know what to do.....*please be kind* :-(

Discussion in 'Health, Fitness and Injuries' started by Charlotte Alice Rose, Mar 7, 2018.

1. I feel like I am so lost right now. Maybe it's just girl hormones playing mind games?

However, I am looking for advice. Please be kind as I am new to running etc. Here's a brief background.

So I started running gradually (as I was a keen cyclist but not an experienced runner) but in April 2017 time. I started off with intervals and then did a couple of 5k park runs on intervals as well! Funnily enough, I met my partner there and I still think to this day it was fate!

Anyway, I then took up canicross with my dog in May (trail running with a dog attached to you out in front running with special harnesses and stuff) I was and still am hooked on it! So building a picture that I am starting to run more and harder off road. I had two twisted ankles on the left foot, all within 3 months of eachother through canicross and immediately sough physio advice. I have been trying to strengthen them as much as I can since with balance and wobble board exercises.

The main issues which have been recurrent since starting running are extremely tight calves and hamstrings

At the same time, I was also doing a bit of weights and stuff (PB on deadlift of 90kg!) however, I feel a past back injury was triggered which then lead to a few complications. I gave up weightlifting around October time, only been doing it around 6 months. But I was under physio orders to stop for a while.

This back issue also interfered with my running and cycling too! It only really became apparent, when I did my first duathlon that my back was really sore as I transitioned from Running to Cycling. As it was my first event, I wanted to just go and see, I ran in terrible Skechers and my old hybrid - but still - REALLY enjoyed it!!