Recommend me a running log app

Discussion in 'General Training and Racing Discussion' started by Mudrock, Dec 9, 2017.

1. Mudrock

Mudrock Regular Member

Hi
    After all these years I've been recorded my running stats on good old pen and paper.
    But I think it's time to catch up to date and start logging my runs on my iPhone.
    But which one?
    So any helpful advice will be welcomed.

Last edited: Dec 9, 2017
  2. Steve

Steve Regular Member Staff Member

I've tried runkeeper, mapmyrun but now use Strava (with Garmin connect)

Mudrock likes this.
  3. WiltshireWonder

WiltshireWonder Active Member Staff Member

I'm new on Strava and I do quite like it but it took a load of hassle to get set up (which might be due to my luddite tendencies).

Mudrock likes this.
  4. john59

john59 Regular Member

I've been using the free Strava since 2009 for cycling & running and would recommend it. You can get further stats etc using this chrome add-on, StravistiX for Strava!

Mudrock likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    Mudrock

Mudrock Regular Member

Thanks for your replies,
    I have Strava and now gone premium,
    My problem is, I am increasing my weekly mileage but I don’t to over do it, so how do I keep track of things and set a new weekly target?

6. john59

john59 Regular Member

You could use something like, My Asics, to create a training plan!

7. OP
    OP
    Mudrock

Mudrock Regular Member

Interesting
    Not heard of that , and I always buy Asics.

Off to check out the site
    Cheers

8. amasidlover

amasidlover Active Member

The received wisdom is to do 3 weeks of increasing mileage by max 10% per week (with no single run getting more than 10% longer, i.e., don't add all 10% to your long run if you do a weekend long run...) then do a week of 50-60% of your 3rd weeks mileage (to recover), then repeat but starting the first week of the next 3 building mileage weeks at the same mileage as the last of the previous 3.