Why is moderation handled privately?

Discussion in 'Guidelines and FAQs' started by Shaun, Sep 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shaun

    Shaun Regular Member Staff Member

    Almost all moderation is handled privately to avoid embarrassing forum members. Reminders and warnings are sent by Alerts or Personal Messages so only you and the moderators see them. When reminders and warnings are listed on your User Profile, only you see them there; other members do not see them. The moderators keep records of their actions so the administrator can review the messages, but these records are not shared with other members.

    In keeping with this privacy policy, if you post in the forums asking why your post was moderated, your post will be removed. The answer to "Why was my post deleted?" is always the same: it violated a Forum Rule or was a quote of a post that violated a forum rule. If you want a further explanation use the Contact Form so we can be perfectly frank and discuss your posts and forum record.

    Moderation privacy does not mean that moderation is secretive or mysterious. The rules are posted for all to see. We'll discuss any aspect of your moderation with you and explain the reasons for any moderation action you question. Each moderator sees the actions taken by the other moderators, so no moderator acts in a vacuum. The administrator oversees and reviews the moderators to make sure moderation policies are followed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice